Home > About us > Staff > Academic Staff
About us
Home > About us > Staff > Academic Staff

Academic Staff

Director and Heads of Departments

 

Ulrike RivettUlrike Rivett

Dipl.-Ing. Univ Technische Universität Munich, PhD UCT

Professor, Director of the School of IT

Office: 3.48 Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4213
Email: Ulrike.Rivett@uct.ac.za


Google Scholar profile


Prof. Irwin Brown Professor Irwin Brown

BScEng(Hons) (Electrical) Zimbabwe, PhD UCT MInfSys Curtin

Professor, Head of Department: Information Systems

Office: 3.32, Leslie Commerce
Telephone:  +27 (0)21 650 3155
Irwin.Brown@uct.ac.za

Google Scholar profile


Hussein SulemanHussein Suleman

MSc UDW, PhD VPI&SU

Associate Professor, Head of Department: Computer Science

Office: Room 317.3, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 5106
Email: hussein@cs.uct.ac.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Staff from the Departments of Computer Science and Information Systems (in alphabetical order):

Sonia BermanSonia Berman

BSc Rhodes, MSc PhD UCT

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Office: Room 310, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2668
Email: sonia@cs.uct.ac.za

ResearchGate profile


Adheesh BudreeAdheesh Budree

BSc, BSc(Hons) Information Systems UNISA, MSc Financial Economics SOAS, PhD UWC

Senior Lecturer, Information Systems

Office: 3.08, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2261
Email: adheesh.budree@uct.ac.za

Google Scholar profile


Photo unavailableJan Buys

MSc Stellenbosch, DPhil Oxon

Lecturer, Computer Science

Office: Room 314, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 21 650 7375
Email: jbuys@cs.uct.ac.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Josiah ChavulaJosiah Chavula

BSc University of Malawi, MSc Lancaster University, PhD UCT

Lecturer, Computer Science

Office: Room 305, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 1330
Email: jchavula@cs.uct.ac. za
Website

Google Scholar profile


 Prof. Wallace Chigona ProfessorWallace Chigona

BSocSc, MSc Computer Science, iDoktoringenieur (Dr.-Ing) Computer Science

Professor, Information Systems

Office: 3.33 Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4345
Email: Wallace.Chigona@uct.ac.za


Google Scholar profile


Brian DeRenziBrian DeRenzi
PhD University of Washington

Adjunct Senior Lecturer


 
Email: bderenzi@cs.uct.ac.za
Website: http://www.bderenzi.com/home

 


Melissa DensmoreMelissa Densmore

BA Computer Science Cornell, MSc University College London, PhD Berkeley

Senior Lecturer, Computer Science

Office: Room 316, Computer Science Building
Email: mdensmore@cs.uct.ac.za
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4315
Website

Google Scholar profile


James GainJames Gain

MSc Rhodes, PhD Cantab

Professor, Computer Science

Office: Room 315, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4058
Email: jgain@cs.uct.ac.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Andrew Hutchison Andrew Hutchison

MSc UCT, PhD Zurich

Adjunct Professor, Computer Science


Email: andrew.hutchison@t-systems.com
 

 


David JohnsonDavid Johnson

BEng UCT, MEng Pretoria, MSC PhD University of California, Santa Barbara

Adjunct Senior Lecturer, Computer Science

Office: Room 315, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4058
Email: djohnson@csir.co.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Dr. Salah Kabanda Senior LecturerSalah Kabanda

BCom Venda, BCom(Hons) Information Systems North West University, MSc Computer Science Zululand, PhD UCT

Associate Professor, Information Systems

Office: 3.36, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4253
Email: Salah.Kabanda@uct.ac.za
 

Google Scholar profile


 Ms. Meke Kapepo LecturerMeke Kapepo

Dip IT NUST Namibia, BTech CPUT, MTech CPUT

Lecturer, Information Systems

Office: 3.37, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2199
Email: Meke.Kapepo@uct.ac.za


Google Scholar profile


Maria KeetMaria Keet

BSc(Hons) OU UK, MSc WUR, MA Limerick, PhD Bozen-Bolzano

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Office: Room 314.1, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2667
Email: mkeet@cs.uct.ac.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Michelle KuttelMichelle Kuttel

MSc, PhD UCT

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Office: Room 304.2 Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 5107
Email: mkuttel@cs.uct.ac.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Michael KyobeMichael Kyobe

MBA Durham, MIS HD Institute for Management of Information Systems, PhD Free State

Professor, Information Systems

Office: 3.44, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2597
Email: Michael.Kyobe@uct.ac.za

Google Scholar profile


Patrick MaraisPatrick Marais

MSc UCT, PhD Oxon

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Office: 309 Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4086
Email: patrick@cs.uct.ac.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Thomas MeyerThomas Meyer

MSc RAU, PhD UNISA

UCT-CSIR Chair in Artificial Intelligence, Professor, Computer Science

Office: 304.1 Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 5519
Email: tmeyer@cs.uct.ac.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Deshen MoodleyDeshen Moodley

MSc Natal PMB, PhD KwaZulu-Natal

Associate Professor and Student advisor, Computer Science

Office: 306.1 Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2663
Email: deshen@cs.uct.ac.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Mr. Gwamaka Mwalemba LecturerGwamaka Mwalemba

BSc Computer Science, BCom(Hons) Information Systems, MCom Information Systems UCT

Lecturer, Information Systems

Office: 3.43, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2582
Email: gt.mwalemba@uct.ac.za

Google Scholar profile


Geoff NitschkeGeoff Nitschke

BSc(Hons) Curtin, PhD VU Amsterdam

Senior Lecturer, Computer Science

Office: Room 308, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 3981
Email: gnitschke@cs.uct.ac.za
Website

Google Scholar profile


Ayanda PekaneAyanda Pekane

NDip Electrical Engineering (light current), B-Tech Project Management, M-Tech Information Technology CPUT

Lecturer, Information Systems

Office: Room 3.32, Leslie Commerce
Telephone:
Email: ayanda.pekane@uct.ac.za

 


Jacques OphoffJacques Ophoff

PhD in Information Technology Nelson Mandela Metropolitan

Associate Professor, Information Systems

Office: 3.34, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4387
Email: jacques.ophoff@uct.ac.za


Google Scholar


Sumarie RoodtSumarie Roodt

BCom Informatics UP, MBA UCT, PhD Informatics degree (UP)

Senior Lecturer, Information Systems

Office: 3.35, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2286
Email: sumarie.roodt@uct.ac.za


Google Scholar profile


Aslam SaflaAslam Safla

BSc(Hons) Natal, MSc UKZN

Lecturer and Student advisor, Computer Science

Office: Room 307, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2664
Email: aslam@cs.uct.ac.za


Google Scholar profile


Assoc Prof Lisa Seymour Lisa Seymour

BSc Chemistry and Biochemistry UCT, BSc(Hons) Chemistry UCT, PhD UCT

Associate Professor, Information Systems

Office: 3.38, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4259
Email: Lisa.Seymour@uct.ac.za


Google Scholar profile


Rob SimmondsRob Simmonds

Bsc(Hons), PhD Mathematical Sciences Bath UK

Professor, Computer Science

Office: Room 317.2, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 5108
Email: simmonds@cs.uct.ac.za


ResearchGate profile


Gary StewartGary Stewart

BSc(Hons) UCT

Senior Lecturer, Computer Science

Office: Room 304.3, Computer Science Building
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 2665
Email: gstewart@cs.uct.ac.za

 


Maureen Tanner Maureen Tanner

BEng(Hons) Computer Science and Engineering Mauritius, MCom Information Systems, PhD Information Systems UCT

Associate Professor, Information Systems

Office: 3.42, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4860
Email: mc.tanner@uct.ac.za

Google Scholar profile


Pitso TsibolanePitso Tsibolane

BSc Computer Science, BSc(Hons) Computer Science, M.IT UP, MA Creative Writing Rhodes

Lecturer, Information Systems

Office: Leslie Commerce 3.09
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 1542
Email: pitso.tsibolane@uct.ac.za

Google Scholar profile


Jean-Paul Van Belle Jean-Paul Van Belle

Licentiate Macro-Economic Sciences University of Ghent, Belgium, MBA Stellenbosch, BCom(Hons), PhD UCT

Professor, Information Systems

Office: 3.41, Leslie Commerce
Telephone: +27 (0)21 650 4256
Email: Jean-paul.VanBelle@uct.ac.za

Google Scholar profile

TOP